RoadKept vs TripLog

TripLog is built to answer "Can I automate mileage and expenses for less?" RoadKept is built to answer "How much do I owe, how much should I set aside, and how much did I save?" That is the whole comparison, and the rest of this page is the evidence for it: every TripLog figure below is from TripLog's own pages, with the day we read them, and every RoadKept figure is the one the product itself shows.

Start free — no card

The Free plan needs no card. Pro is $7 a month or $69 a year, with a 14-day trial.

What each one costs

Product No-cost plan Paid Trial
RoadKept Free plan: the set-aside calculator, 10 Tax Copilot questions and 5 receipt scans a month, no card, your full history Pro: $7 a month, or $69 a year 14 days, card up front
TripLog Basic: unlimited automatic mileage tracking, basic expense tracking, tax-compliant reports, parking, tolls, fuel and MPG (TripLog's pricing page, checked 16 August 2026) Premium: $4.99 a month billed annually, or $59.99 a year (TripLog's pricing page, checked 16 August 2026) No trial stated

A price here is the vendor's list price for a new subscriber on the day it was read. It says nothing about what an existing subscriber pays, and vendors change list prices without notice — check the page before you decide.

What each one claims to do

Yes, Partly and No are what TripLog's own pages claim, read on 16 August 2026. "Not stated" means the page we read did not say. RoadKept's column is what the product does today.

What each one claims RoadKept TripLog
Mileage capture
Automatic trip detection (background GPS) No Yes
Manual entry by day, week or month Yes Not stated
Odometer start and end per trip Yes Not stated
Bulk paste of past shifts Yes Not stated
Named locations and frequent routes No Not stated
Trip replay on a map No Not stated
Multiple vehicles Yes Not stated
Tax
A set-aside figure from your own numbers Yes No
Progressive federal brackets, not a flat rate Yes No
All four filing statuses Yes Not stated
State income tax Partly Not stated
Self-employment tax and QBI Yes Not stated
Quarterly deadlines with the amount due Yes Not stated
Safe-harbor underpayment tracking Yes No
Standard mileage vs actual expenses, per vehicle Yes No
1099 reconciliation against your own records Yes Not stated
W-2 plus gig withholding optimizer Yes Not stated
More than one business on one return Yes Not stated
1099 e-filing No No
Deductions and expenses
Receipt scanning Yes Partly
Receipt storage Yes Not stated
Bank and card import No Yes
Earnings import from platform CSV Yes Not stated
Fuel and maintenance logs Yes Yes
Reports
CSV export Yes Not stated
PDF report Yes Not stated
Excel export with numeric cells Yes Not stated
Year-end package for a preparer Yes Not stated
QuickBooks or Concur integration No Yes
Platform
Native iOS and Android app No Not stated
Full web app Yes Partly
AI tax assistant Yes Not stated
Paid audit defense No No

Where TripLog is ahead

Where RoadKept is ahead

Who should pick which

Pick TripLog if what you want is automatic trip detection (background GPS), bank and card import and quickBooks or Concur integration. It has those today and RoadKept does not.

Pick RoadKept if you want to know what to hold back from every payout, what each quarterly payment is, and what your year-end Schedule C looks like, computed from your own records. TripLog's pages do not claim a set-aside figure from your own numbers, progressive federal brackets, not a flat rate and safe-harbor underpayment tracking.

Many drivers run both: a capture app for the miles, RoadKept for the tax side. Paste the month's miles in and RoadKept does the arithmetic.

Worth knowing about TripLog

Questions drivers ask

How do RoadKept and TripLog prices compare?

RoadKept Pro is $7 a month or $69 a year, and the Free plan is $0 with no card. Premium: $4.99 a month billed annually, or $59.99 a year (TripLog's pricing page, checked 16 August 2026). Each figure is that vendor's list price for a new subscriber on the day shown, and any of them can change, so read the pricing page before you decide. RoadKept's price is the one you join at for as long as your subscription stays active without a lapse.

Does RoadKept detect trips automatically like TripLog?

Not today. TripLog's page says it detects trips automatically in the background. RoadKept logs miles by manual entry, odometer readings, bulk paste of past shifts, or a foreground GPS tracker that pauses if your screen locks or you switch apps. If automatic trip detection is the one thing you need, TripLog has it and RoadKept does not.

What does RoadKept do that TripLog does not?

Going by TripLog's own pages, it does not offer, or only partly offers: a set-aside figure from your own numbers, progressive federal brackets, not a flat rate, safe-harbor underpayment tracking, standard mileage vs actual expenses, per vehicle, receipt scanning and full web app. RoadKept does each of these, and the set-aside figure, the quarterly amounts and the year-end report are computed by code from your own records rather than estimated.

Can I use TripLog and RoadKept together?

Yes. Some drivers keep a mileage app for automatic trip detection and use RoadKept for the tax side: paste the month's miles in, and RoadKept computes the set-aside figure, the quarterly amounts and the year-end Schedule C report from them. Your records stay yours and export any time.

Start free — no card

The Free plan needs no card. Pro is $7 a month or $69 a year, with a 14-day trial.

Other comparisons